Donate to the MSHP Fund, we couldn't advocate for pharmacy education & advancement without you. Make a donation at, or call 952-541-9499.
Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Share |

MSHP Pharmacy Advocacy Fund 

The MSHP Public Policy Committee actively collaborates with the Minnesota Pharmacy Alliance (MPA). MPA was previously known as the PATF. Rachel Root and Jill Strykowski lead the MPA. MPA is a collaboration between MSHP, MPhA and the College of Pharmacy that strives to expand pharmacy practice in the state of Minnesota. They also work collaboratively, at times, with the Board of Pharmacy.

Last year’s legislative agendas focused on prescribing authority for pharmacists for smoking cessation products, naloxone, travel health products, and administration of medications. A recent survey was sent out to both MPhA members and MSHP members to determine this year’s priorities. The survey results will be available soon.


This year’s goals were outlined at the MSHP Board retreat and include:

  • Improved communication about the actions of the MPA
  • Explaining how the “sausage is made” (how a bill gets passed)
  • Develop a policy making process within MSHP that takes off from the ASHP process, with more member input and a clear process for approval.

We continue to work with our lobbyist, Buck Humphrey, to advance our initiatives at the State Capitol.


Members of the Public Policy Committee include the following:

  • Co-Chairs Pamela Phelps and John Pastor
  • Members Garrett Schramm, Calvin Thornton, Brandon Ordway (MSHP President Elect), Susan Flaker, Kevin Dillon, JoAnne Myhre, Emma Bulock, and ASHP Delegates from Minnesota Paul Krogh and Melissa Carlson

Legislative Day is slated for Tuesday, February 20, 2020 at the State Capitol. Plan to attend and advocate for the profession!


We ask for continued support of these advocacy efforts. Please consider donating to the MSHP Pharmacy Advocacy Fund to directly support this work on your behalf, and any amount is helpful. We welcome your feedback and conversation on legislative topics; please do not hesitate to contact the members of the Public Policy Committee. 


Please Click Here to support this work through a donation directly to MSHP's Pharmacy Advocacy Fund.  If you prefer, you can download the Donation Form  and submit this with your payment to MSHP.                 


Best regards,

John Pastor III                         Pam Phelps
Public Policy Co-Chair              Public Policy Co-Chair
612-672-5153                            612-863-4906